Rants

No Music Tuesday

I admittedly had a rough day today. I did not sleep incredibly well last night due to a headache. I got to work at 9 am, and I didn’t leave until 7 pm. None of my experiments went well, and I was battling research problems all day. None of these things ruined my day. What did ruin my day was the fact that it was a Tuesday, and there was absolutely no new music whatsoever.

Before going any further, I will admit that I probably will sound like a spoiled little child by the end of this post, but I will risk it anyway. Ever since I downloaded Spotify in January 2013, I have always looked forward to Tuesdays. Tuesdays brought with them the fabled “New Music Tuesday”, which in turn brought many new and unique albums and tracks by some of my favorite artists. Sometimes, there was nothing of consequence, but other days, I could hit the jackpot with a wonderful new album or two and spend hours soaking in brand new tunes. It was always nice to have a surprise in the middle of the week to look forward to, as I rarely looked ahead at future releases, and was never really ready for what could possibly be unleashed on any given Tuesday.

This week though, all my expectations were shattered in the worst way possible. As I always have done on Tuesdays, I first looked through all my starred artists to se if anything new had arrived. For the first time since last September, no artist had anything new whatsoever. This surprised me somewhat, but I was not completely shocked yet as many artists had recently released albums, and were thus unlikely to have new material anytime soon. I then looked at the new releases page, and saw last week’s releases. I was thoroughly confused by now, but assuming Spotify was just having technical difficulties, I went to look at the internet.

And then my worst fears (musically speaking) materialized. There was no “New Music Tuesday”, and there would never be another one, ever. I read that this was in an effort to stop music piracy, and to make it easier for international releases. But these people didn’t even seem to consider that their plan would ruin my day, not to mention millions of other people’s days as well. Congratulations music industry, you just managed to take away the only routine mid-week joy that I had left away, and of all days you had to move it to Friday? What sane person looks for new music on a Friday? Friday is when films release, people take weekend trips, and I sleep. I do not need new music to get me through the weekend, I need it to get me through the week. Now, thanks to your unfeeling desire to reel in as much money for yourselves as possible, I have no music for this week. I go to bed after a long hard day with no new tunes dancing through my head because you moved your day for new music from the American day to the international day. You didn’t even warn me. I am throughly put out at you.

I will admit that I am old-fashioned. I even buy all of the music I like enough to own on CDs. However, that is no excuse for you to move “New Music Tuesday” to Friday. If I ever self release any music, I am absolutely sure it will not be on a Friday because of this outrage.

– Gavin

Leave a comment