Updates

Riddle Me This

In my research job today, I had to go to another lab in order to run tests. I ended up being there most of the day.One perk of this was being able to talk to other students, as the other lab’s group is much larger than my own. One of these students is here on the same program as myself, and as we were collecting our data, we talked about a great many things.

Somehow, the topic of riddles came up today, and we spent the afternoon trying to out-clever each other with creative riddles. This was much easier for him than for me, as his mind was very good at making connections that were not immediately obvious to me. I did manage to stump him with one riddle, which goes as follows.

A man is exactly 5 years younger than his older brother to the day. One day, his brother dies. Exactly five years to the day after that happens, the man himself dies. At the time of the brother’s death, who was older?

If you think this riddle is easy, great for you. Please comment if you can solve it.

– Gavin

Leave a comment