Religion

As Far From Christmas as You Can Possibly Get

I am not sure why some people celebrate Christmas, but in my family we do it as a celebration of the birth of Jesus. It commemorates the coming to earth of the one and only person who saved us from our sin.

Like many families, we exchange gifts on Christmas. This past year, I received three albums on CDs, among other things. All three were albums that I had listened to on Spotify previously, and I had been hoping to acquire for quite some time. As any avid music lover would, I imported them to the iTunes library on my computer that same day.

The current version of iTunes has an interesting feature where it lists all of one’s “Recently Added” albums at the top of the user’s “My Music” page. Roughly translated, this means that the shown album’s have been imported within the last six months. Earlier today I opened iTunes, and to my surprise there seemed to be fewer entries than there had been the day before. After a moment of concern, I realized that this change in appearance was due to the removal of the three albums I received as presents on Christmas Day. This meant that it had been six months since I imported the albums, which meant that Christmas had occurred exactly six months ago, which meant that today was as far from Christmas as you can possibly get.

This realization caused me to wonder, “Is there any reason not to celebrate the coming of Jesus Christ today, on the day farthest from our celebration of Him?” The answer was  a firm and clear “No! There is no reason in the world not to ever celebrate His coming.” To think that I only thought this because of a technology developed by an Atheist is incredibly ironic, as in attempting to live apart from God, the technology this man created actually helped affirm my faith in Jesus.

– Gavin

Leave a comment